Dāna – Charity - Buddhism, Philosophy, and Khmer Literature


Buddhism, Philosophy, and Khmer Literature

The teachings of the Buddha are aimed solely at liberating sentient beings from suffering. The Basic Teachings of Buddha which are core to Buddhism are: The Three Universal Truths; The Four Noble Truths; and The Noble Eightfold Path.

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Dāna – Charity

Donor – Things – Donee

I. There are 4 types of Dāna a/c to Vinaya Piṭaka
1.     Piṇḍapāta dāna      = Giving alms-food
2.     Cīvāra dāna           = Giving robes
3.     Senāsana dāna       = Giving dwelling place
4.     Bhesajja dāna        = Giving medicine.

II. There are 6 types of Dāna a/c to Abhidhamma Piṭaka:
1.     Rūpa dāna             = Giving material things
2.     Sadda dāna            = Giving sound
3.     Gandha dāna         = Giving smell
4.     Rasa dāna              = Giving taste
5.     Phoṭṭhabbā dāna    = Giving touch
6.     Dhamma dāna       = Giving mind-object or Dhamma

III. There are 10 types of Dāna a/c to Suttanta Piṭaka:
1.         Anna dāna           = Giving food or eatables …
2.         Pāna dāna           = Giving drinks, juice, syrups …
3.         Vattha dāna         = Giving clothes, garments …
4.         Yāna dāna           = Giving conveyances, carriage, vehicle …
5.         Māla dāna           = Giving flowers
6.         Gandha dāna       = Giving fragrance, scent
7.         Vilepana dāna      = Giving unguent, ointment
8.         Seyyā dāna          = Giving couch, bed etc.
9.         Āvasatha dāna     = Giving abode, (dwelling.)
10.     Padīpeyya dāna    = Giving light, lamp, material for lighting …
(Ref: Dīgha Nikāya Pāthika vagga)

IV. There are 5 types of Immoral gifts:
1.     Majja dāna             = Giving intoxicating drinks and drugs
2.     Samajja dāna         = Giving theatrical display
3.     Itthi dāna               = Giving women (for sensual pleasure)
4.     Usabha dāna = Giving bull (for mating, breeding)
5.     Cittakamma dāna  = Giving painting (pornographic or erotic)
(Ref: Vinaya Piṭaka, Parivāra, Pañcakavāra)

V. There are 5 great gifts:
1.     Pāṇātipātā veramaṇi                  = Abstaining from killing
2.     Adinnādāna veramaṇi               = Abstaining from taken what not given
3.     Kāmesumicchācārā veramaṇi    = Abstaining from sexual misconduct
4.     Musāvādā veramaṇi                  = Abstaining from telling lies
5.     Surameraya majjapamā daṭṭhānā veramaṇi = Abstaining from using intoxicating and drugs
          (Ref: Abhisanda sutta, Aṭṭhakathā nipāta, Aṅguttara Nikāya)

VI. There are 3 types of dāna classified a/c to 3 levels:
          Hīna dāna
          Majjhima dāna
          Panīta dāna

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad

Privacy and cookie settings