The Eight Qualities For Specific Prediction - Buddhism, Philosophy, and Khmer Literature


Buddhism, Philosophy, and Khmer Literature

The teachings of the Buddha are aimed solely at liberating sentient beings from suffering. The Basic Teachings of Buddha which are core to Buddhism are: The Three Universal Truths; The Four Noble Truths; and The Noble Eightfold Path.

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

The Eight Qualities For Specific Prediction

Five kinds of great forsaking
1.    Dhamma pariccāga          =Giving or forsaking one’s property.             
2.    Putta pariccāga                 =Giving or forsaking one’s daughter &son. 
3.    Bhariya pariccāga            =Giving or forsaking one’s wife.
4.    Aṅga pariccāga                =Giving or forsaking one’s own limb.
5.    Jīvita pariccāga                 =Giving or forsaking one’s own life.

Three highest Conducts:
1.    Buddhattha cariyā     - for the sake of Buddha.
2.    Ñatattha cariyā         – for the welfare of relatives or nation or race
3.     Lokattha cariyā        – for the welfare of all beings at large.

The eight qualities for specific prediction:
(Ref: Uparipaṇṇāsa Attakatha, Aṅguttaranikāya Buddha)
1.     He must be a male human being.
2.     He must have a perfect masculinity; (can neither be eunuch nor a hermaphrodite).
3.     He must have met the actual living Buddha.
4.    He must have the qualities for the attainment of Arahantship.
5.     He must be a monk (Bhikkhu) or Hermit who seeks the truth.
6.     He must be endowed with the power of higher knowledge (Abhiññā) and attainment (samāpatti).
7.    He must be able to sacrifice even his life; and
8.     He must have a firm determination and strong ambition to become a Buddha.

A brief account of the life of the Buddha:
·       Name:                     =Gotama Buddha
·       Conception              =Full moon day of Wāso (July), 625 B.C. 67 MahāEra
·       Born                       =Full moon day of Kason (May), 624 B.C. 68 MahāEra
·       Place                       =Kapilavatthu
·       Parents                    =King Suddhodana and Queen Maha Māyā
·       Buddhisatta’s name =Siddattha Godama
·       Married                   =At to 16  to Princess Yasodhara
·       Four Great signs      =Old man, sick man, dead man, Monk (saw them when going to pleasure Garden)
·       Son                         =Rahulā, born in thirteenth year of his marriage.
·       Renunciation           =Full moon day of Wāso (July), 595 B.C. 97 M.E
·       Struggle                  =Six year in the Forest; extreme austerities.
·       Enlightenment         =Full moon Day of Kason; 589 B.C. 103 M.E under the Bodhi tree at Buddha Gāya India

-1st watch          =Pubbenivāsānussati ñāṇa (the higher psychic power to remember past existences of himself as well as of others)
-Middle watch  =Dibbacakkhuñāṇa (the higher psychic power of divine sight)
-Last watch:      =Āsavekkhaya (or) Arahatta maggañāṇa (the higher psychic power which enables one to eradicate defilements absolutely)

·       Year of Teaching    =Taught for 45 years,
·       Death (Parinibbāna)   =Full moon Day of Kason; 544 B.C (148 M.E.) at age 80.
        Seven days each at seven places:
1.    Pallaṅka sattāha                – Sitting on Pallaṅka
2.    Animisa sattāha                – Gazing at Pallaṅka & Bodhi tree
3.    Ratanacankama sattāha     – Pacing up and down
4.    Ratanaghara sattāha          – Living in the House of Gem
5.    Ajapala sattāha                 – Ajapala Nigrodha tree
6.    Mucalinda sattāha             – Mucalinda tree
7.    Rājāyatana sattāha            – Rājāyatana tree

Four kinds of individual (Puggala):
(Ref: Ugghatitaññū Sutta, Aṅguttaranikāya)
1.    Ugghatitaññū – brief-learner, who learns by taking hint.
2.    Vipañcitaññū – diffuse-learner, who learns by full detail.
3.    Neyya – who is to be led on (by instruction)
4.    Padaparama – one who learns by heart, is word perfect without understanding it.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad