Eight Moral Precepts - Buddhism, Philosophy, and Khmer Literature


Buddhism, Philosophy, and Khmer Literature

The teachings of the Buddha are aimed solely at liberating sentient beings from suffering. The Basic Teachings of Buddha which are core to Buddhism are: The Three Universal Truths; The Four Noble Truths; and The Noble Eightfold Path.

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Monday, March 22, 2021

Eight Moral Precepts

Eight Moral Precepts

The eight moral precepts can be observed permanently or occasionally as much as one is able. They are very suitable for lay persons.

Especially the eight moral precepts are observed on sabbath (Uposatha) days, that is, on the eighth and the fifteenth waxing days as well as on the eighth and either the fourteenth of fifteenth waning days of the lunar month.

Some people observe the eight moral precepts not only on uposatha days but also on the days before and after the uposatha day. One will enjoy the following benefits by observing the eight moral precepts.

- One will achieve great wealth and power,

- Even a Universal Monarch-to-be will become a Universal Monarch only if he observes the eight moral precepts.

- One will attain good human or deva existences repeatedly enjoying great wealth and luxury in saṁsāra, and finally one will attain Maggañāṇa, Phalañāṇa, and realize Nibbāna.

- One will become a virtuous person, admired, trusted and loved by others in this very life.

- One will also possess great wealth in the present life.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad